Officers and Committees of the African Astronomical Society

AfAS Executive Committee

President Jamal Mimouni (Algeria)
Vice-President Lerothodi Leeuw (SA)
General Secretary Sarah Abotsi-Masters (Ghana)
Assistant General Secretary Charles Takalani (SA)
Public Relations and Education Officer Olayinka Fagbemiro (Nigeria)
Early Career Zara Randriamanakoto (Madagascar)
Additional Member #1 Palesa Nombula (SA)
Additional Member #2 Etsegenet Getachew (Ethiopia)


Outreach Committee

Chairperson Niruj Mohan Ramanujam (South Africa)
Member Jamal Mimouni (Algeria)
Member Sarah Abotsi-Masters (Ghana)
Member Olayinka Fagbemiro (Nigeria)
Member Etsegenet Getachew (Ethiopia)
Advisor Kevin Govender (South Africa)

African Network of Women in Astronomy (AfNWA)

Chairperson Mirjana Pović (Ethiopian Space Science and Technology Institute, Ethiopia)
Member Vanessa McBride (Office of Astronomy for Development-IAU, South Africa)
Member Priscilla Muheki (Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Uganda)
Member Carolina Ödman (University of the Western Cape, South Africa)
Member Somaya Saad (National Research Institute of Astronomy and Geophysics, Egypt)
Member Nana Ama Brown Klutse (University of Ghana, Ghana)
Send correspondence to
African Astronomical Society
c/o South Africa Astronomical Observatory
1 Observatory Rd, Observatory, South Africa, 7925
Cape Town South Africa