loader image

A call for nominations for members of the next Executive Committees was issued to the African astronomy community; the Nominations Committee was after that tasked with reviewing the nominees to ensure that all meet the criteria agreed upon for nomination and that they are diverse in terms of geography, race, age, and gender. Below is the list of nominees who met the criteria as set out in the constitution of AfAS, the call for nominations, and who accepted the nomination. They will stand for election to become Executive Committee Members for the three years commencing 1st April 2022, and the President and Deputy President of AfAS will also be elected by the members of AfAS from nominees on this list.

Click here to view Nominees bios
Name of NomineeOrganization Affiliated to:Country of WorkNationality
Ahmed AmmarThe Astronomical Society of TunisiaTunisiaTunisia
Alemiye MamoEast African Regional Office of Astronomy for Development and Ethiopian Space Science and Technology InstituteEthiopiaEthiopia
Claudio PauloUniversidade Eduardo MondlaneMozambiqueMozambique
Naomi Asabre FrimpongGhana Space Science and Technology InstituteGhanaGhana
Oyirwoth Patrick AbedigambaKyambogo University, UgandaUgandaUganda
Elizabeth NaluminsaSALT, SAAOSouth AfricaUganda
James ChibuezeNorth-West UniversitySouth AfricaNigeria
Manasse MbonyeUniversity of RwandaRwandaRwanda
Maram KaireSenegalese Association for the promotion of AstronomySenegalSenegal
Mirjana PovicEthiopian Space Science and Technology InstituteEthiopiaSpain
Noorali Tayabali JiwajiThe Open University of TanzaniaTanzaniaTanzania
Ramotholo SefakoSAAOSouth AfricaSouth Africa
Shambel Sahlu AkaluEntoto Observatory and Research CenterEthiopiaEthiopia
Sinenhlanhla SikhosanaUKZNSouth AfricaSouth Africa
Sthabile KolwaUniversity of JohanessburgSouth AfricaSouth Africa
Thebe MedupeUniversity of the North WestSouth AfricaSouth Africa
Yosry Ahmed AzzamNational Research Institute of Astronomy and GeophysicsEgyptEgypt
Zouhair BenkhaldounCadi Ayyad University – Oukaimeden Observatory – MoroccoMorroccoMorrocco